Five Generations

squires-photoOf the 11,000 lakes in Michigan, I’d like to tell you about my favorite lake: Lake George!  Lake George is 134 acres in size and is located in Clare County, north of Farwell.  The area around Lake George was originally surveyed by my great-great grandfather, Arthur D. Johnson.  He was paid by being given lots surrounding the lake and eventually built our family cottage there around the mid-1940’s.  During World War II, it was difficult to get building materials, so he built the walls of the cottage from blocks that he made himself out of sawdust and other materials he had on hand.  The original cottage is still standing, and I am the fifth generation to vacation there — a tradition that we are all proud of.

I started going up to our cottage at Lake George as a baby, and I learned how to do one of my favorite hobbies there, fishing! My preferred fish to catch there is bass, but we have many other fish in the lake including pike, carp, bullhead, sun fish, crappie, perch, and more.  I remember so many mornings waking up early to go out fishing with my dad on our pontoon boat, and as my brother grew up, he would go with us too.

There are so many fun things to do outdoors at Lake George. I love tubing and wake boarding on the lake, and it’s also fun to anchor our boat at the “swimming hole” and go swimming.  When not on the water, I enjoy hiking around the lake, or walking to town for an ice cream cone!  In the evenings, we always have a campfire and roast marshmallows! The 4th of July is always a fun time to be on the lake as well because there is usually a boat parade and after dark, the neighbors around the lake set off fireworks.

The best part of being at Lake George is just enjoying being outdoors. My family has always had a rule of “no television sets” at the cottage.  When I was younger, I never understood why we couldn’t have a TV there.  However, now that I am in high school and look back at those times, I realize why my parents enforced that rule, because it encouraged my brother and I to be outdoors and enjoy all that Lake George had to offer, whether it be catching turtles, climbing trees, shooting our BB guns, or teaching my dog how to look for fish in the water.   Lake George will always be a very special place for me – it feels like home!

Tyler Squire – YCC member, Midland

Leave a Reply

