An open letter to the person who took me hunting

Butko

Dear Person who took me hunting,

Without you I probably wouldn’t be waking up at 4 a.m. to go hunting. What got me interested in hunting was when I watched you shoot a deer. You dragged me out of bed at 4 and I was a little upset. But watching you shoot a deer was worth it and I was hooked. The next year I took hunters safety and I couldn’t wait until my first youth hunt.

Thank you for spending your weekends with me on the youth hunt. Without you I wouldn’t have been able to shoot my first buck. You were there and I knew I had made you proud. From then the rest is history. Time and time again I find myself wanting to be hunting.

Squirrel hunting tournaments and deer hunting are my favorite things to do with you. As I get ready to go off to college I hope that our traditions do not end. I hope to find myself opening morning out in the woods with you. Hunting will always be a huge part of my life thanks to you.

I will never forget the memories we made thanks to the deer horns on my wall.

Emily Butko, YCC Member

Leave a Reply

