Sanity in the Wild

DSCN0033The grey sky hangs above like the satin sheets of a queen. The delicacy of the morning breeze caresses my face like the smooth hands of a lover. The mighty Superior spreads out beyond the capacity of my sight; out far beyond places that only I can imagine. In the rare occasion she decides to be calm, the shades of aqua reflect the misty sky and change across her vast body from opaque to deep. The glimpses of sunlight that peak out from behind the hanging curtain of clouds dance effortlessly on the surface of the water and convince me of the presence of angels. The tide rolls like the beat on a drum, in sync with every breath I take; like we are the harmony in a beautiful song. The breeze picks up and gathers my worries and carries them away with the single gull feather fluttering down the beach. As I sit on a piece of drift wood I burry my feet in the cool, dew covered rocks. I look down the length of the shore line to see the continuous beauty of the stone covered Earth stretched for miles.  The purity penetrates into my soul, it cleanses my mind and heals my heart. This is my sanity. This is my escape.

“Sometimes you find your self in the middle of nowhere, and sometimes, in the middle of nowhere you find yourself.” unknown author

In every walk with nature one receives far more than they seek.

Ryann Rich~ Belding, MI.

Leave a Reply

