Coincidence? I think not!

I was so excited! It was one of my favorite days of the year. September 21st youth hunt!  The alarm was set for 4:30 knowing it would only take me 10 minutes to get ready. I was so excited for morning to come I could hardly sleep! When the alarm went off I jumped out of bed and got ready. I dug out my lucky overalls and lucky boots. I walked out to the garage to help my dad load the car. At 5:30 a.m. we slipped quietly to the car and drove to our hunting spot. When we arrived the car was unloaded without a word and we slowly walked out to our hunting shed. By time we got there the sun was starting to rise. Naturally, like any teenager pulled out my cell phone and started texting friends, telling them how badly I wanted to shoot a deer today. Then my dad tapped my shoulder. Pointing towards the woods he whispered “deer!” I quickly put my phone away and scanned the woods looking for movement. Then I saw them 2 bucks and a doe. My dad and I watched. I was patiently waiting for a shot. Then they walked away! What a bummer. Now I was frantically scanning the woods hoping that they would walk back. At about 8 a.m. the same deer came back into view.  They walked right into my shooting lane. I decided to take the larger buck. Shaking I looked through my scope. I aimed my gun right for a good heart shot and squeezed the trigger. BAM

OUCH! I wiped my face with my sleeve and saw blood on it. My dad checked me over and chuckled “oh looks like we have a case of scope eye”. Yup the scope had come back and hit me in the face. But wait! What happened to the deer! I looked into the woods noticed the deer lying on the ground, motionless. You should have seen the smile on my face! I was so happy! All I wanted to do was go see my deer! But, first I had to do something really important. You see my dad and I have a tradition that when you shoot a deer you get to write the time and day that it was taken on the deer blind wall. Scouring the wall I found the last time I written on it.   I read the time and date my first deer was taken, a buck, at 8:30 am September 21st 2013.  Checking the time I shot this buck; 8:30 a.m and it was September 21st 2014.  No Way!  My first two deer were taken the same time and the same day! I couldn’t believe it! Is this a coincidence? The same exact time and the same exact day, one year apart! It seemed too good to be true! Honestly it’s probably because I wore my lucky overalls!]

Emily Butko – YCC member

Butko deer

Leave a Reply

